My Front-end Internship Experience

frontend.jpg I CAN DO IT

This has been my favorite quote since I started my internship in Side hustle.Learning daily is compulsory to achieve your goals in life. This is a general statement for anyone who wants to achieve some set goals but it should be strictly followed as a developer because a day without practice equals a month of losing opportunities. I started the side hustle internship on the 21st of June and it has been a really great experience. It’s one of Africa’s initiative to help youths improve and be part in the fast growing technology world .Being able to collaborate and learn among like minds is a dream come true and I see it as a step towards greatness .I have been able to dive more into HTML and CSS. From discussing the different tags in HTML I have been able to try out amazing things. Although, I have a previous knowledge of HTML and CSS but this opportunity has brushed up my skills. I have learnt new and fantastic topics such as:

  • Making use of Google fonts

  • website responsiveness

  • Git and Github

  • Hosting on Netlify and many more.

The Tasks

I am two weeks into the internship and every week there’s a task and quiz to work on .This helps to evaluate Interns’ knowledge and understanding on what has been taught. I have worked on two tasks so far. The first task was on writing tribute and creating form using HTML tags. This task was relatively easy for me because of my previous knowledge. The second task which was from a developer website Frontend Mentor(I recommend this to other developers) with title ”Fylo Dark Theme Landing Page Challenge ” .This was far difficult than expected for a second task but as an individual I love challenges so I applied my I CAN DO IT mindset, which gave me an excellent output. I hope every learner can live by this quote, and never underestimate themselves. The tasks given broaden my thinking.

Conclusion

I want to appreciate the side hustle mentors and Organizers. Your ways of knowledge impartation is top-notch. Although, I don’t have a perfect work yet but I believe learning is a continuous process and I know I am a step closer to my dreams of being a great developer. Here is the link to my design hosted on Netlify : fylo-landingpage-oa.netlify.app GitHub repository : github.com/ayeniope/Internshiptask2